Philosophy

Subjects



A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z -- (View all)

  • Cambridge Collections Online offers two major collections: Cambridge Companions Complete and Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics.

    Cambridge Companions Complete provides accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods including specially commissioned essays, shaped and introduced to appeal to student readers. Each title is supported by reference features such as a chronology and guide to further reading.

    Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics collection provides more than 1500 comprehensive and accessible essays on major authors, periods and genres, written by experts and designed for student readers. For the author Companions each writer is placed in literary and historical context; their major works are analysed, either in separate chapters or grouped according to theme, and their influence on later writers assessed. The generic and topical Companions cover periods of English literature such as Old English or the Victorian Novel, and literary genres such as Modernism or Greek Tragedy, giving the student vital contextual information about political, social, religious and artistic relationships. The Companions to Classical Civilisation examine key periods and aspects of the civilisations of ancient Greece and Rome.


  • Encompassing philosophy from antiquity through our information age in A-Z order, the Encyclopedia of Philosophy contains more than 2,100 entries, including more than 450 new articles, and features about 1,000 biographical entries on major figures in philosophical thought.

  • The Encyclopedia of Rhetoric surveys one of the Western world's oldest disciplines. Its 150 entries bring together expertise in classical studies, philosophy, literature, literary theory, cultural studies, speech, and communications. It combines theory, history, and practice, with a special emphasis on public speaking, performance, and communication.

  • NDHI introduces the main ideas and movements of global cultural history from antiquity to the twenty-first century. It examines topics over centuries and millennia of development. The NDHI focuses not only on the ideas themselves, but also on the cultural environments within which those ideas arose, on the transformations of ideas, and on their influence on the world.
Nash Library
© University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma
1727 W. Alabama
Chickasha, OK 73018
(405) 574-1343
Tested with:
Internet Explorer 7 Firefox 1.5+ Safari 1.3+ Opera 9+
Staff login

powered by Drupal - template FlorAll