Current Events

Subjects



A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z -- (View all)

  • The Biographical Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North Africa explores the lives of influential figures in the Middle East who came to prominence during the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. It offers biographies on more than 300 notable individuals from the region. It includes individuals from a range of fields: business, law, science, social science, sports, the arts and others. Special attention is paid to the inclusion of women, commonly underrepresented in biographical works on the Middle East.

  • CQ Almanac Online is the primary source for coverage and analysis of U.S. Congressional legislation from 1945 to today. CQ Almanac is renowned for its in-depth analysis of the path legislation takes through Congress, including how bills get changed, are derailed, or ultimately get passed during an annual session of Congress.

  • CQ Researcher contains original reporting and analysis on issues in the news. It offers access to reports dating back to 1991 covering health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each single-themed, 12,000-word report provides researchers with an introductory overview, background and chronology on the topic, an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps, pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of key sources.

  • History Reference Online Complete is a full-text online collection of encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and guides in the areas of United States history, world history, politics and government, law, society, education, pop culture, folklore, mythology, science, technology, engineering, the environment, religion, geography, and current issues. Search by title or across the entire collection.

  • Points of View Reference Center provides essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. It provides 250 topics, each with an overview, point, counterpoint, and Critical Thinking Guide. It contains 1,143 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents, reference books, and the Video Encyclopedia of the 20th Century. It offers guides to debate, developing arguments and writing position papers.
Nash Library
© University of Science and Arts of Oklahoma
1727 W. Alabama
Chickasha, OK 73018
(405) 574-1343
Tested with:
Internet Explorer 7 Firefox 1.5+ Safari 1.3+ Opera 9+
Staff login

powered by Drupal - template FlorAll